CSR Reporting

Content Menu
Updated on October 3, 2017

Governance Framework

Sony Corporation is governed by its Board of Directors, which is elected at the annual shareholders' meeting. The Board has three committees (the Nominating Committee, Audit Committee and Compensation Committee), each consisting of Directors named by the Board. Corporate Executive Officers are appointed by resolution of the Board. In addition to these statutory bodies and positions, Sony has Corporate Executives who carry out business operations and corporate functions within designated areas. In line with its corporate strategy and in response to a changing environment, with an aim to maintain the most appropriate way to manage the Sony Group's business operation Sony continually works to enhance its governance functions.

Directors and Corporate Executive Officers who were elected in June, 2017


Board of Directors
  • Chairman of the Board: Osamu Nagayama*1
    Representative Director, Chairman and Chief Exective Officer, Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.
  • Kazuo Hirai
    Representative Corporate Executive Officer,
    President and CEO, Sony Corporation
  • Kenichiro Yoshida
    Representative Corporate Executive Officer,
    Executive Deputy President and CFO, Sony Corporation
  • Takaaki Nimura*1
    Ceritified Public Accountant
  • Eikoh Harada*1
    Former Chairman, President and CEO, Representative Director, McDonald's Holdings Company (Japan), Ltd.
  • Tim Schaaff
    Chief Product Officer, Intertrust Technologies Corporation
    Independent Startup Advisor
    Former President, Sony Network Entertainment International LLC
  • Kazuo Matsunaga*1
    Chairman of the Board, Mitsubishi Fuso Truck & Bus Corporation
    Former Vice-Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry
  • Koichi Miyata*1
    Chairman of the Board, Sumitomo Mitsu Financial Group, Inc.
    Chairman of the Board, Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation
  • John V. Roos*1
    Former United States Ambassador to Japan
    Founding Partner, Geodesic Capital
  • Eriko Sakurai*1
    Chairman and CEO, Dow Corning Toray Co., Ltd.
  • Kunihito Minakawa*1
    Former Audit and Supervisory Board Member (Full-time), Ricoh Company, Ltd.
  • Shuzo Sumi*1
    Chairman of the Board, Tokyo Marine Holdings, Inc.
Nominating Committee
  • Osamu Nagayama*1(Chair)
  • Koichi Miyata*1
  • John V. Roos*1
  • Shuzo Sumi*1
  • Kazuo Hirai
Audit Committee
  • Takaaki Nimura*1(Chair)
  • Kazuo Matsunaga*1
  • Kunihito Minakawa*1
Compensation Committee
  • Eikoh Harada*1(Chair)
  • John V. Roos*1
  • Eriko Sakurai*1
  • Kenichiro Yoshida

An Outside Director who satisfies the requirements under item 15, Article 2 of the Companies Act of Japan


Corporate Excecutive Officers
  • Kazuo Hirai*2
    President and Chief Executive Officer
  • Kenichiro Yoshida*2
    Executive Deputy President and Chief Financial Officer
  • Tomoyuki Suzuki
    Executive Deputy President
    Officer in charge of R&D Platform
    In charge of Energy Business and Storage Media Business
  • Shiro Kambe
    Executive Vice President
    Officer in charge of Legal, Compliance, Corporate Communications, CSR, External Relations and Information Security & Privacy
  • Masashi Imamura
    Executive Vice President
    Officer in charge of Manufacturing, Logistics, Procurement, Quality & Environment
    In charge of Engineering Plaform
  • Shigeki Ishizuka
    Executive Vice President
    Officer in charge of Imaging Products and Solution Business
    Representative Director and President, Sony Imaging Products & Solutions Inc.
  • Ichiro Takagi
    Exective Vice President
    Officer in charge of Home Entertainment & Sound Business and Consumer AV Sales & Marketing
    Representative Director and President, Sony Visual Products Inc.
    Representative Director and President, Sony Video & Sound Products Inc.
  • Hiroki Totoki
    EVP, Corporate Executive Officer, CSO
    In charge of Mid-to-Long Term Business Strategy, New Business
    Officer in charge of Mobile Communications Business
    President & CEO, Sony Mobile Communications Inc.
    President and Representative Director, Sony Network Communictions Inc.
  • Kazushi Ambe
    Exective Vice President
    Officer in charge of Human Resources and General Affairs

Representative Corporate Executive Officer concurrently serving as Director
(Name and position s of Directors and Corporate Exective Officers as of August 1, 2017)

  • Board of Directors, Sony Corporation
Sony explains to its stakeholders, including its shareholders, the reasons for, and background of, the nomination and/or appointment of each individual. Please refer to the pages below for releases and convocation notices in respect of individual appointments or nominations.

Meeting record

During the fiscal year ended March 31, 2017, the Board convened nine times. The Nominating Committee met six times, the Audit Committee met seven times and the Compensation Committee met seven times. All nine outside Directors, including Kanemitsu Anraku who retired in June 2016, participated in all meetings of the Board held during their tenure period in the fiscal year ended March 31, 2017 except for Joichi Ito (Joichi Ito participated in eight meetings out of nine). Also, all eight outside Directors, including Kanemitsu Anraku who retired in June 2016, who are members of Committees participated in all of the meetings of each Committee held during the fiscal year ended March 31, 2017. The Board conducted outside Directors' meetings, Directors' corporate strategic workshops with management, site visits by outside Directors and meetings of the Chairman of the Board and the CEO. These activities were aimed at enhancing the oversight function of the Board, securing better understanding by outside Directors of Sony's business and management's initiatives and encouraging corporate strategic discussions among Directors.
Page Top