The press releases on this website are provided for historical reference purposes only.
Please note that certain information may have changed since the date of release.

May 9, 2012

Executive Appointments

Tokyo, Japan — At the meeting of the Nominating Committee held on May 9, 2012, Sony Corporation named candidates for election to the position of Member of the Board. The selections are subject to the approval at the Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders to be held on June 27, 2012.

Members of the Board

The candidates for election to the position of Member of the Board are as follows.

  • Kazuo Hirai (**)
    Representative Corporate Executive Officer, President and CEO
  • Ryoji Chubachi
    Representative Corporate Executive Officer, Vice Chairman
  • Masaru Kato (**)
    Corporate Executive Officer, EVP and CFO
  • Howard Stringer
    Representative Corporate Executive Officer, Chairman
    Mr. Stringer to be appointed Chairman of the Board, subject to approval at the Board of Directors meeting to be held on June 27, 2012.
  • Peter Bonfield (*)
    Chairman of the Board, NXP Semiconductors N.V.
  • Ryuji Yasuda (*)
    Professor, Graduate School of International Corporate Strategy, Hitotsubashi University
  • Yukako Uchinaga (*)
    Director and Executive Vice President, Benesse Holdings, Inc.
    Chairman of the Board, Chief Executive Officer and President, Berlitz Corporation
  • Mitsuaki Yahagi (*)
    Representative Director, Chairman of the Board, The Japan Research Institute, Ltd.
  • Tsun-Yan Hsieh (*)
    Founder & Chairman, LinHart Group
  • Roland A. Hernandez (*)
    Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Telemundo Group, Inc.
  • Kanemitsu Anraku (*)
    Director, Mizuho Financial Group, Inc.
  • Yorihiko Kojima (*)
    Chairman of the Board, Mitsubishi Corporation
  • Osamu Nagayama (*)
    Representative Director, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.
  • Takaaki Nimura(*)(**)
    Certified Public Accountant
  • (*) An Outside Director who satisfies the requirements under Item 15, Article 2 of the Companies Act of Japan
  • (**) A new candidate for Member of the Board

Retired Members of the Board

  • Yotaro Kobayashi
    Former Chairman of the Board, Fuji Xerox Co., Ltd.
  • Yoshiaki Yamauchi
    Former Director, Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc.
  • Fujio Cho
    Chairman of the Board, Toyota Motor Corporation
  • Yuichiro Anzai
    President, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science
Page Top