The press releases on this website are provided for historical reference purposes only.
Please note that certain information may have changed since the date of release.

June 19, 2009

Executive Appointments

Tokyo, Japan- Sony Corporation announced the appointment of members to its Board of Directors following approval at the 92nd Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders that took place today, along with the company's Chairman of the Board, Vice Chairman of the Board, Chairmen and Members of the Nominating, Compensation and Audit Committees, Representative Corporate Executive Officers and Corporate Executive Officers appointed at a Meeting of the Board of Directors held after the above mentioned General Meeting of Shareholders.

<Members of the Board>  (* Independent Director)
The Board Members are as follows. One new Board Member has been selected(**).

Howard Stringer Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President
Ryoji ChubachiVice Chairman
Nobuyuki Oneda(**) Executive Deputy President and Chief Financial Officer
Yotaro Kobayashi* Former Chairman of the Board, Fuji Xerox Co., Ltd.
Sakie T. Fukushima*  Representative Director & Chairman, Korn/Ferry International - Japan
Yoshihiko Miyauchi* Director, Representative Executive Officer, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer,
ORIX Corporation
Yoshiaki Yamauchi* Director, Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc.
Peter Bonfield* Chairman of the Supervisory Board, NXP B.V.
Fueo Sumita* Chief of Sumita Accounting Office
Fujio Cho* Chairman of the Board, Toyota Motor Corporation
Ryuji Yasuda* Professor, Graduate School of International Corporate Strategy, Hitotsubashi University
Yukako Uchinaga* Director and Vice Chairman, Benesse Corporation
Chairman of the Board, Chief Executive Officer and President, Berlitz International, Inc.
Mitsuaki Yahagi* Chairman of the Board, The Japan Research Institute, Limited
Tsun-Yan Hsieh* Senior Advisor, McKinsey & Company
Roland A. Hernandez* Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Telemundo Group, Inc.

<Chairman of the Board and Vice Chairman of the Board>

Chairman of the Board Yotaro Kobayashi
Vice Chairman of the Board      Yoshihiko Miyauchi

<Chair and Members of the Committees>

Nominating Committee
Chair Yotaro Kobayashi
Members Yoshihiko Miyauchi, Peter Bonfield, Fujio Cho,
Yukako Uchinaga, Roland A. Hernandez,
Howard Stringer, Ryoji Chubachi
Compensation Committee
Chair Sakie T. Fukushima
Members Mitsuaki Yahagi, Tsun-Yan Hsieh
Audit Committee
Chair Yoshiaki Yamauchi
Members Fueo Sumita, Ryuji Yasuda

<Corporate Executive Officers>

Representative Corporate Executive Officers   (* concurrent with Director)
Howard Stringer*     Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President
Ryoji Chubachi* Vice Chairman
Officer in charge of Product Quality & Safety and Environmental Affairs
Nobuyuki Oneda* Executive Deputy President and Chief Financial Officer

Corporate Executive Officers
Yutaka Nakagawa Executive Deputy President
Officer in charge of Manufacturing, Logistics, Procurement and CS Platform
Hiroshi Yoshioka     Executive Deputy President
Officer in charge of Consumer Products & Devices Group(CPDG)
Keiji Kimura EVP
Officer in charge of Intellectual Property, Information Systems,
B2B solutions business and the Disc Manufacturing business
Nicole Seligman EVP and General Counsel
Kazuo Hirai EVP
Officer in charge of Networked Products & Services Group(NPSG)
Page Top