News Releases

Content Menu
The press releases on this website are provided for historical reference purposes only. Please note that certain information may have changed since the date of release.
June 20, 2008

Executive Appointments

Tokyo, Japan- Sony Corporation announced the appointment of members to its Board of Directors following approval at the 91st Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders that took place today, along with the company's Chairman of the Board, Vice Chairman of the Board, Chairmen and Members of the Nominating, Compensation and Audit Committees, Representative Corporate Executive Officers and Corporate Executive Officers appointed at a Meeting of the Board of Directors held after the above mentioned General Meeting of Shareholders.

<Members of the Board>  (* Independent Director)
The Board Members are as follows. Four new Board Members have been selected(**).

Howard Stringer 
Ryoji Chubachi 
Katsumi Ihara 
Yotaro Kobayashi* Chief Corporate Advisor, Fuji Xerox Co., Ltd.
Sakie T. Fukushima*  Representative Director & Regional Managing Director-Japan, Korn/Ferry International
Yoshihiko Miyauchi* Director, Representative Executive Officer,
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer,
ORIX Corporation
Yoshiaki Yamauchi* Director, Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc.
Peter Bonfield* Member of the Board, Telefonaktiebolaget LM Ericsson
Fueo Sumita* Chief of Sumita Accounting Office
Fujio Cho* Chairman, Toyota Motor Corporation
Ryuji Yasuda* Professor, Graduate School of International Corporate Strategy, Hitotsubashi University
Yukako Uchinaga*(**) Director, Vice Chairman, Benesse Corporation
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Berlitz International, Inc.
Mitsuaki Yahagi*(**) Chairman of the Board, The Japan Research Institute, Limited
Tsun-Yan Hsieh*(**) Special Consultant, McKinsey & Company
Roland A. Hernandez*(**) Retired Chairman and CEO, Telemundo Group, Inc

<Chairman of the Board and Vice Chairman of the Board>

Chairman of the Board Yotaro Kobayashi
Vice Chairman of the Board      Yoshihiko Miyauchi

<Chair and Members of the Committees>

Nominating Committee
Chair Yotaro Kobayashi
Members Yoshihiko Miyauchi, Perter Bonfield, Fujio Cho,
Yukako Uchinaga, Roland A. Hernandez,
Howard Stringer, Ryoji Chubachi
Compensation Committee
Chair Sakie T. Fukushima
Members Mitsuaki Yahagi, Tsun-Yan Hsieh
Audit Committee
Chair Yoshiaki Yamauchi
Members Fueo Sumita, Ryuji Yasuda

<Corporate Executive Officers>

Representative Corporate Executive Officers   (* concurrent with Director)
Howard Stringer*     Chairman and CEO
Ryoji Chubachi* President and Electronics CEO
Katsumi Ihara* Executive Deputy President
Officer in charge of Consumer Products Group
Corporate Executive Officers
Yutaka Nakagawa Executive Deputy President
Officer in charge of Semiconductor & Component Group,
Production Strategy, Procurement and Supply Chain
Nobuyuki Oneda     EVP and CFO
Keiji Kimura EVP
Officer in charge of Technology Strategies, Intellectual Property,
Information Systems and Electronics Business Strategies
Nicole Seligman EVP and General Counsel
Page Top