Sony Global Headquarters"> <!--#include virtual="/set_title" -->News Release - Sony Appoints Members of the Board and Corporate Executive Officers

The press releases on this website are provided for historical reference purposes only.
Please note that certain information may have changed since the date of release.

June 22, 2006

Sony Appoints Members of the Board and Corporate Executive Officers

Tokyo, Japan- Sony Corporation announced the appointment of members to its Board of Directors following approval at the 89th Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders that took place today, along with the company's Chairman of the Board, Vice Chairman of the Board, Chairmen and Members of the Nominating, Compensation and Audit Committees, Representative Corporate Executive Officers and Corporate Executive Officers appointed at a Meeting of the Board of Directors held after the above mentioned General Meeting of Shareholders.

<Members of the Board> (* Independent Director)

The Board Members are as follows. Two new Board Members have been selected(**).

  • Howard Stringer
  • Ryoji Chubachi
  • Katsumi Ihara
  • Akishige Okada*
    Advisor, Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation
  • Hirobumi Kawano*
    Senior Vice President, JFE Steel Corporation
  • Yotaro Kobayashi*
    Chief Corporate Advisor, Fuji Xerox Co., Ltd.
  • Sakie T. Fukushima*
    Representative Director & Regional Managing Director-Japan,
    Korn/Ferry International
    Member, Board of Directors, Korn/Ferry International, U.S.A
  • Yoshihiko Miyauchi*
    Director, Representative Executive Officer,Chairman and Chief Executive Officer,
    ORIX Corporation
  • Yoshiaki Yamauchi*
    Director, Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc.
  • Peter Bonfield*
    Member of the Board, Telefonaktiebolaget LM Ericsson
  • Fueo Sumita*
    Chief of Sumita Accounting Office
  • Fujio Cho*(**)
    Vice Chairman, Toyota Motor Corporation
  • Ned Lautenbach*(**)
    Operating Partner, Clayton, Dubilier & Rice, Inc.
  • Göran Lindahl
    Chairman & CEO, LivSafe Group
    Director, INGKA Holding B.V.

<Chairman of the Board and Vice Chairman of the Board>

  • Chairman of the Board
    Yotaro Kobayashi
  • Vice Chairman of the Board
    Hirobumi Kawano

<Chairmen and Members of the Committees>

Nominating Committee

  • Yotaro Kobayashi (Chairman)
    Hirobumi Kawano, Peter Bonfield,
    Howard Stringer, Ryoji Chubachi

Compensation Committee

  • Akishige Okada (Chairman)
    Yoshihiko Miyauchi, Fujio Cho, Göran Lindahl

Audit Committee

  • Yoshiaki Yamauchi (Chairman)
    Sakie T. Fukushima, Fueo Sumita

<Corporate Executive Officers>

Representative Corporate Executive Officers (* concurrent with Director)

  • Howard Stringer*
    Chairman and CEO
  • Ryoji Chubachi*
    President and Electronics CEO
  • Katsumi Ihara
    Executive Deputy President
    Officer in charge of Procurement Strategies, TV & Video Business

Corporate Executive Officers

  • Nobuyuki Oneda
    EVP and CFO
  • Keiji Kimura
    Officer in charge of Technology Strategies and Intellectual Property
  • Nicole Seligman
    EVP and General Counsel
  • Yutaka Nakagawa
    Officer in charge of Products Strategies, Digital Imaging Business and Audio Business
Page Top