The press releases on this website are provided for historical reference purposes only.
Please note that certain information may have changed since the date of release.

April 27, 2005

Executive Appointments

Tokyo, Japan- At its Board of Directors Meeting held on April 26,2005,Sony Corporation decided candidates for the positions of Member of the Board. The selections are subject to the approval of the Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders to be held on June 22, 2005.

Members of the Board (*Independent Director)

The candidates for Board Members are as follows. Four new Board Members have been selected (**)

  • Howard Stringer
  • Ryoji Chubachi(**)
  • Katsumi Ihara(**)
  • Akishige Okada*
    Chairman of the Board (Representative Director),
    Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc.,
    Chairman of the Board (Representative Director),
    Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation
  • Hirobumi Kawano*
    Senior Vice President, JFE Steel Corporation
  • Yotaro Kobayashi*
    Chairman of the Board, Fuji Xerox Co., Ltd.
  • Sakie T. Fukushima*
    Representative Director & Regional Managing Director-Japan,
    Korn/Ferry International
    Member, Board of Directors, Korn/Ferry International, U.S.A
  • Yoshihiko Miyauchi*
    Director, Representative Executive Officer,
    Chairman and Chief Executive Officer,
    ORIX Corporation
  • Yoshiaki Yamauchi*
    Director, Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc.
  • Peter Bonfield* (**)
    Member of the Board, Telefonaktiebolaget LM Ericsson
  • Fueo Sumita* (**)
    Chief of Sumita Accounting Office
  • Göran Lindahl

Members of the Board Retired

  • Nobuyuki Idei
  • Kunitake Ando
  • Teruo Masaki
  • Ken Kutaragi
  • Teruhisa Tokunaka
  • Akihisa Ohnishi
  • Iwao Nakatani
    Director of Research, UFJ Institute Ltd., President, Tama University
  • Carlos Ghosn
    President and Chief Executive Officer, Nissan Motor Co., Ltd.
Page Top